PA career consideration

I am a high school student who I will soon go off to college. I'm still not sure what career I want, however being a physician surgical assistant is one of my top options. I've read that I need a bachelors and masters degree, but I'm confused with the process of becoming PA, so I was wondering if someone could help me. So here are my questions:

1. Is the career too expesive?

2. I've read that I need healthcare experience so I could be able to get accepted to a PA program, if so then how could I earn the healthcare experience ? Is it during college or after? How much experience do I need ?

3. What should my major be? Which classes should I need to during college?

4. How long is the PA program ?

Every answer/advice will be highly appreciated !

It sounds like you have a lot of your own research to do. I would suggest that you start off with Google. Then visit your school counselor and make a list of other interesting career fields. Research these, too. Once you have a basic idea of the PA career and other careers, then read around on this forum, specifically the Pre-PA section.

• 3 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...

I am a high school student who I will soon go off to college. I'm still not sure what career I want, however being a physician surgical assistant is one of my top options. I've read that I need a bachelors and masters degree, but I'm confused with the process of becoming PA, so I was wondering if someone could help me. So here are my questions:

2. I've read that I need healthcare experience so I could be able to get accepted to a PA program, if so then how could I earn the healthcare experience ? Is it during college or after? How much experience do I need ?