Hi, I am a pre-PA student one year out of college. I graduated from UCLA with a physiology degree and had a decent GPA(3.5+). During college I did a lot of volunteer work in both the hospital and community, as well as research. However, I only have about 1000 hours as a medical scribe for my HCE, as I only decided on PA a few months prior to my college graduation. I am trying to find a different job after my current job contract ends but there are not very many healthcare jobs that require a few months of training or less that count toward HCE. Should I consider taking another gap year to get more healthcare experience? I really want to apply as soon as possible(hopefully this year) but I am concerned about applying and not getting in, especially since applications are expensive and money is an issue for me. What are good options for me at this point?

If I were you (and I’m obviously not), I would consider applying this year to a small group of schools. (A) you might get in and (B) you will be more prepared for “next year,” if you don’t get in. Some schools do accept scribe experience.

Good luck!

I am going to offer an opinion that might surprise you. You might think that the PA profession is a great choice because of the rigorous admission standards and challenging education. It is all of that. The fact is that it doesn't matter. Minting graduates from PA programs with solid pre-pa experience in hce and premed curriculum coupled with rigorous medical education doesn't translate into competitiveness in the marketplace. You will work harder to get in, harder to graduate and harder to find satisfying work than any nurse practitioner. The PA profession is in a state of rapid decline and will not be in existence in ten years.