#1 ugadawg

ugadawg

Registered

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts

Posted 09 January 2017 - 07:48 PM

Hi all,

I am a new graduate and will be starting work tomorrow. My office and I submitted my paperwork to become a medicare provider. I was wondering if anyone understands the laws and if I am allowed to see medicare patients or not. When I called medicare, they advised that I don't see medicare patients because if I get denied for some reason I would basically be seeing those patients for free. I asked about the "incident to" billing (found on AAPA website- you can bill under your supervising physician as long as you're just seeing a follow-up patient, and the medicare representative said they had never heard of this. Does anyone know if I can see medicare patients, or not? 

Thanks

#2 jmj11

jmj11

Registered

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4,337 posts

Posted 10 January 2017 - 02:56 AM

Hi all,

I am a new graduate and will be starting work tomorrow. My office and I submitted my paperwork to become a medicare provider. I was wondering if anyone understands the laws and if I am allowed to see medicare patients or not. When I called medicare, they advised that I don't see medicare patients because if I get denied for some reason I would basically be seeing those patients for free. I asked about the "incident to" billing (found on AAPA website- you can bill under your supervising physician as long as you're just seeing a follow-up patient, and the medicare representative said they had never heard of this. Does anyone know if I can see medicare patients, or not? 

Thanks