So I'm proud of myself considering where I started and want to get feedback from others as you look at your taxable income for 2016. I work EM full time and made 126k working about 15-16/shifts a month (9 hours) and then did 1-2 shifts a month at a cardiology side job and made about $14k. I made less than this in 2015 when I had a baby but in 2014 made around $143k for the year. I graduated in 2009 and have had two full time jobs so far (each about three years) and always a part time job.

My first job was salary at 75k a year then I did some side stuff. My second and third years out I worked stupid hours and tons of extra.

I know some people post about how PAs can make 200-250k so I'm curious where/how that happened. I don't want to become complacent while on the other hand I want to say HELL YEAH!

Do you mind sharing your journey from new grad to now?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I'm still a student but have worked with PAs who made over $200K. Most of them were 1099 EM PAs and worked like 18-21 shifts a month. Another was in derm and had a really good bonus structure where they almost made more on bonus then their salary.

Congrats though! I hope a couple years out of school I can be making close to that.

• Upvote 2

first pa job 1996 made 70 k doing urgent care/fast track

1998 moved to community ER made 90k

2001 started picking up extra shifts at several other local ERs , made 120k

2001-2015 diversified and started working more rural shifts in addition to per diem jobs at level 1 and 2 trauma ctrs. gradually increased to 150k while working at 6 sites. often worked 180-220 hrs/mo. sometimes as much as 240.

full time rural now between 3 sites. made 170k in 2016, expect to make more this year working 168 hrs/mo as 10 twelve hr shifts and 2 twenty four shifts/mo.