I am finishing up my last four rotations and will graduate in May 2017. I will graduate from Nebraska but am moving to Maine this summer. I have no connections to anyone in Maine, so I was wondering when would be a good time to start applying for a position that I could start in August/September? I have my resume written and have explored several job opportunities online that I might consider in Maine from websites like indeed.com. Is applying for a job now too soon? If so, when should I apply?

I graduated in August. I started looking for a job a couple months before my graduation. I used websites like Indeed and DocCafe and I received a lot of "call us back after you pass the boards." I had a contract signed a month after I graduated. Most of my classmates have similar stories. There was only a few that had a contract signed before graduation. 

I am also scheduled to graduate in May, 2017, so I feel your situation. I've been applying to jobs for a while now (probably 3 months). Some may say that's a little aggressive, but I've gotten plenty of places who have been interested, and I just accepted my first job yesterday. I'll say this-for every 10 jobs you apply to (via Indeed, Monster, etc), you'll probably only get a bite from a recruiter for one of those jobs. It's definitely ok to start applying early, just be prepared to hear a lot of "you're too early." In my opinion, it's better to have a good job lined up; one that you've had plenty of time to search out and feel out without having to feel rushed close to graduation. Just my two cents! Good luck!