Applied to around 10 schools and got 4 interview offers so far. Waitlisted at two and have 2 more interviews coming up in the next few weeks. I know I should be honored that I have interviews at all since it's my first time applying but being waitlisted from my top 2 schools has gotten me really discouraged, especially since I felt like I've put my best foot forward.. 

One school ranks their alternate list, and I'm currently at #6, which seems like a long shot. The other school does not rank their list, but supposedly reviews all their applicants after every interview date, which also seems like a long shot since you're competing with even more applicants after each interview.  

It's hard to see waitlist has being a good thing when it just seems like a pending rejection. I was just wondering if there is any chance at all of waitlist ultimately being accepted vs. being rejected? 

I have other interviews coming up but I was really hoping that at this point I would have gotten at least one acceptance somewhere. I'm really dreading the idea of having to reapply next year, although I know full well that it is a possibility that others have done before..

If anyone has any words of encouragement, I would really appreciate it. 

In my opinion, being 6th on the alternate list is pretty good. A lot of people accept their seats and as the cycle continues and they get accepted into other programs, the possibility that some people might give up their seat for someone else despite having already put in their seat deposit is inevitable. I wouldn't lose hope just yet!