2nd career PA

Hello!

I am 33 years old and have been in my field of employment since 2003. My background is in mathematics and operations research. I've always had a desire to break into the medical field so I could care for and help people. 6 years ago, I wanted to start PA school. I didn't. Here I am now, pondering it again! If I would've started 6 years ago, I'd be done by now! My current job is OK. I make a very nice salary and spend my days at a desk. The company has completely flexible hours, which has been wonderful because I am now a mother to three children. I have recently applied to a local community college to retake some science classes as prereqs for PA school. 

I'm curious...are any of you second-career PAs? Has anyone left a high-paying job to pursue being a PA? Was it the best decision you ever made, or do you regret it? I have at least 2 years of prereqs to take, so I will have plenty of time to make a decision (and get some hospital volunteer hours to see if this is what I really want to do). By the time I am ready to begin PA school, I would have to leave this job (and salary) to fully invest myself in to the program. This really scares me! My husband and I are planning now for when that time comes. If all goes as planned, I will be 38 when I am done (wow!!!). Any other advice?

If it's something you truly want to do, you will not regret the lost income or time spent doing pre-reqs. We have a person or two in our class who are taking pay cuts to become PAs. I doubt they regret it in the slightest. They want to take care of people, so the money doesn't matter as much. However since you do have a good paying job and a couple years until you apply, start putting money aside. My program cost 82,000 in tuition plus application costs and living expenses while in the program. However if you started budgeting right now you may be able to escape PA school debt free!

• Upvote 1