Wage quote vs. offer - When can you negotiate?

OK, so I got a wage quote from a big hospital HR after an interview. The OM presented it and even he didn't sound like he liked it and was worried I would walk. He gave me the quote, was unsure of OT and wage differential since I would be working evenings. He asked if I would even be willing to come back in and talk. I said I would welcome another visit with them.

I figure, it's not an official offer because we haven't discussed any benefits or literally ANYTHING yet.

So this wage quote pre-offer is throwing me off. At what point can I turn this into a negotiation?

Also, how much have you seen for shift differentials for evenings (not overnights)? It would be nice to hear from others about those. I thought it's anywhere from $5 to 30% pay....

Interesting... I've been interviewing for 8 months and just accepted a job that I'll be starting Monday.  However, I had several interviews (sometimes phone interviews even) that would throw out their minimum and maximum pay rates for new graduate PAs/NPs.  Typically, I would try to discuss new pay rates over the phone and it never went anywhere ("Sorry, PA, we start all new graduates at $XX rate, and may be able to negotiate and increase in your pay by $1-3/hour based on your previous experience, but we will not be able to go above $XX rate due to our corporate policy.")  So, the light bulb always went off in my mind of "AHA!  This is why this job has been posted on their website for 5 months!"  Thus, I would thank them and hang up without any further conversation, because seriously, what's the point?  Usually these jobs were discussed as $33.00 - $41.00 per hour.