Path to PA without parental support.

Hey guys. I'm a college freshman and my parents are definitely not feeling the whole PA thing and are putting me under a lot of pressure to be a MD. I still haven't broken it to them that I have no plans to be a doctor but that's another issue. I just wanted to ask for some advice on a becoming a PA without the support of Ma and Pa as far as getting HCE, and pretty much everything else. Thanks.

7a0d6e44e59ab9a0a524574225d3912b.jpg

What do you mean by parental support? Are they not going to pay for school, living expenses in undergrad if you go PA? Are they going to pay for Med school?

Why do you want PA over MD?

If you're parents are going to float you through Med school, I really see this as a no brainer.

So, you're saying if you had full parental support when you went to PA school, you would have rather pursued an MD/DO? Why didn't you do the MD/DO anyway? I thought medical students (and PA students) can utilize school loans to pay for living expenses while they are in school? 

• Administrator

You're a college freshman.  You are in the latter stages of adolescence, well on your way toward being an adult.

I remember when I was a sophomore in high school, and my anthropology/sociology teacher introduced the concept that in modern American society, there are no specific rites of passage, before which one is a child and after which one is an adult.  I swore that I would prove him wrong.  Then I hit 18 and didn't feel like an adult.  When I hit 21, I still didn't feel completely adult, but gradually kind of forgot about it.  When I was 30, something brought me back to that distinction, and I thought "I have a mortgage, a mini-van, and 2 kids.  I guess I'm an adult now".