Application prep - MLS student

Hi everyone!

I'm a senior now at Uconn, studying Medical Laboratory Science as my undergraduate major. I have my EMT and phlebotomy certs, both of which I will continue to keep current, but only about 100 hours of direct patient care experience. When I graduate I obviously want to get a job with direct patient care to build up my hours for application, I'm just wondering what type of position I should look for. Ideas: phlebotomist, patient care associate at a hospital, hematology lab scientist (including phlebotomy), or working PT in any area of the lab (chem, heme, micro, ect), PT as a PCA or phleb. I tried the EMT gig and my heart is just not in it. Any ideas/tips/suggestions?

First, why is your heart not in the EMT gig? Was it related to co-workers, or something not relating to patient care? 

I have been working as an MLT for two years now, but was a Corpsman back in the Navy. I have heard that some schools do infact take MLS experience as HCE, but as you probably know direct patient contact is what they really value. 

Personally, I would try to find a part time job working in the lab, and try to find a position where you will also be required to draw patients as well. Also try to work as a PCT/MA/CNA or something on the side. Just wouldnt want to see all the MLS training go to waste. You shouldnt have a hard time finding a job as an MLS unless your area is saturated. 

Good luck and let us know what happens. 

Definitely use your MLS - if for no other reason than you will make so much more money than working as a phleb or CNA and you could in theory be applying for several years.  Depending on your schedule (MLS has some great variability) you could pick up a part time CNA or phleb position on the side to get your PCE.