How can I obtain healthcare experience hours while in college?!

Hello everyone! I'm currently a rising sophomore student at Emory in Atlanta and my dream job is to become a PA. Ideally, I would like to start PA school after I finish my undergrad, but I am having a hard time finding a way to obtain paid healthcare experience/hours. I would want to become a CNA or phlebotomist and work during my undergrad, but its hard to get and pay for certification for those jobs while I'm in college.

So for those who got into PA school straight from undergrad, how were you able to get sufficient healthcare experience hours? Does anyone know of any short healthcare programs in the Atlanta/Decatur/Emory area that are covered by HOPE Scholarship?

Hello Mfon!

I am in working on my undergrad. I have been a phlebotomist for 5 years now. I am also a pharmacy technician at the pharmacy in Walgreens. I've worked at Walgreens from 2007-2012, and this year the pharmacy manager had asked me if I could join the company again. So, I am back working as a pharmacy technician. During summers, I work full time and while in school I have worked part time. I have decided for this fall, I will be working once or twice a week.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Hello Mfon!

I am in working on my undergrad. I have been a phlebotomist for 5 years now. I am also a pharmacy technician at the pharmacy in Walgreens. I've worked at Walgreens from 2007-2012, and this year the pharmacy manager had asked me if I could join the company again. So, I am back working as a pharmacy technician. During summers, I work full time and while in school I have worked part time. I have decided for this fall, I will be working once or twice a week.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

That's pretty cool! Did you get trained on the job for phlebotomy, or did you do a certificate program?