Hello all,

I am a prospective PA student, and was just wondering if any of you have come across this kind of hypothetical situation and how it has played out:

You're in some kind of public place when you hear a commotion and realize someone had a medical emergency, and people are saying "Is there a doctor here?"  You identify yourself as a PA saying you can help.  I'm almost imagining, in a comical sense, a scenario like "I'm a PA, I can help, what happened?"  "You're a what?  What's that?"  And someone else walks up and says "I'm red cross first aid certified."  "Oh ok great, you're first aid certified, OK you help."

Do you feel that the public is educated enough about PAs and what they do, or do you still have to explain to people, and how do you see the trend moving forward (and why)?

Thanks!

I was on a plane once and there was an overhead announcement asking for a 'certified medical professional'. I actually thought it was interesting, that they were not specifically asking for a Doctor. I figured, OK I qualify - I identified myself as a PA (and my specialty), the flight crew was happy to have me assist. There was also a surgeon on board who had spoken up, we worked together to some extent (comparing our specialties I probably had a bit more experience with acute care). The passenger was OK. I made sure to check on her a couple more times (it was a 6hr flight), seemed to be appreciated by the flight staff.

So to answer your question, on board that plane at least, being a PA was recognized as someone competent to help someone in distress. As far as going forward in the future, as more and more people see PA's in primary care and other settings, we will be more recognized and there will be even less need to explain our role.

Also, in that hypothetical situation you mention, if someone is 'first aid certified', they usually recognize what a PA is, so you can 'bump' them aside, if in fact you are more qualified to manage the patient, than they are.