What if you don't look the part?

This at first might sound like a fairly shallow topic and some of you might even bite at me for this one, but for some reason I think there's some validity to it. Do you think that looking the part is important for patient compliance and trust. Let me explain, if you work in dermatology does it help to have really good skin? If you work at a weight loss clinic, does it help to not be overweight? If you work in women's health does it help to be a woman?Now I know that there is no correlation between looks/gender and ability to properly treat a patient, I just wonder if some patients react/comply differently based on what the person who is treating looks like. What are your thoughts? Have you ever heard/experienced something similar?

• Administrator

I think having graying temples is awesome.  I wouldn't dye my hair to rid myself of them for anything.  I have never once been asked when the real doctor was coming in, nor if I was a nurse... I do get questioned when I am going to finish up and become a full doctor, but that's about it.

Medicine is one area where there still is some respect for apparent age.

We have a student in our class in his late 40s, early 50s. He was shadowing in the ER and was mistaken by the paramedic as the doc. The paramedic handed him the chart and gave him his verbal report on the patient. Our student just sat their and listened intently while he read the EKG. The paramedic finished and asked what he wanted to do. He said, I don't know, I'm just shadowing, the doc is over there. The paramedic ripped the EKG away and stomped off. It really is true, we as a society equate 40 to 60 year olds as being your typical docs. I can't wait to see how people react to me in practice given I'm only 25 with a baby face and an inability to grow any respectable facial hair.  Point of the story is patients and healthcare professionals alike absolutely make assumptions based on appearance.