Need advice about applying while dealing with mental health issues

Hello all,

So basically I'm in desperate need of advice. I am interested in applying to PA school next cycle (2017) but I'm looking for advice on how to improve my application in the coming months. I am a recent college graduate but for much of my college years I've been dealing with major depression/anxiety and I'm afraid it has really hurt my chances at being accepted. I handled it well enough to keep my grades up the first couple of years but with increasing demands and financial issues it all became overwhelming and, sadly, my grades dropped badly the last year and a half, especially this last semester before I graduated. I've decided to take this next year and work on my health, but I would like your advice on how to steadily improve my application over the next year. I am planning to start therapy next month (I would sooner but bc of my financial situation I am waiting until classes begin again and using my school's counseling services) and retaking organic chemistry this fall to receive a higher grade (I made a D in undergrad--my only one but I know it looks very bad). I am working on setting up volunteer opportunities at a couple of free medical clinics in town and am also trying to find a job that would count as HCE (this I don't currently have any of). I am providing some of my stats below so please feel free to give me any advice you may have about improving my chances of acceptance, working on my mental health, good schools to consider, how to explain my time off from undergrad, etc. If it is of any help I am interested in working in underserved areas and possibly working in psych. Thank you for your help!

Major: Microbial Biology w/ minor in Psychology; also completed the honors program at my university

cGPA: 3.53     sGPA: around 3.2     Prereq GPA for top school currently interested in: 3.47 (before retaking O Chem)