Cumulative GPA is being dragged down by past college experience.

Hi everybody, I have a few issues regarding my GPA and lack of HCE. First, I am 31 years old now and deciding that I want to finally pursue a medicine degree in the form of a physician assistant. My first run at college out of high school back in 2003 was less than stellar. I was young and very undecided in exactly what I wanted to do, although I have always loved medicine. So that being said I ended up dropping out in my spring semester and instead of withdrawing I just left, thus a massive hole in my GPA started. I now have a 1.26 GPA from my first college and a 2.63 from my second college which I did obtain an associates degree in electronics. Since going back last year I have taken A&P I and II, Microbiology, Statistics, Gen Psych, Developmental Psych, Med Term and English. I finished this year with a 3.97, my only A- was in med term. I have been shadowing a pediatrician for around 6 months and have around 250 hours with hospice for DPC time. I am also volunteering at the local women and children's hospital in the E.R. and PICU departments, which will give me an additional 80 hours of DPC for when I apply. All of this is happening while I work 45 to 50 hours a week and try to spend as much time as I can with my kids and wife. Will programs look beyond my academic past? What might my chances of getting into a school be?

Thanks a lot everyone!!!!!

Druppel,

The fact is many schools may filter out your application before anyone even sees it. That is if you science and cumulative GPA do not meet the minimum requirements. It sounds like you are on the right track with HCE, although paid experience is generally viewed more favorably. My advice would be to figure out where your GPA is and what you would need to do in order to get it above a 3.0. This may take a year or so but will also give you time to build HCE.