Office visits level 3 vs. 4; new vs. established

Hello all,

It's hard to believe I'm only months from graduating now. My strong interest in Family Med has not wavered, and in fact I had an excellent rotation in a small clinic who's environment is one I aspire to work in. That said, I got to see a little more of the inner workings of coding & billing and I know this will be part of my future practice. Most patients we saw were established (85%), and got coded as either level 3 or level 4 visits. I've looked at the documentation and time requirements between the two and it seems that the divide really comes between levels 2&3 and 4&5. The lower levels being single problem focused (narrow or expanded) and the upper levels being a comprehensive exam (i.e., for multiple issues).

When looking at the Medicare reimbursement schedules, I hear that most private payers/insurers follow those schedules. Have those of you in outpatient FM found this to be true? As a student I've gotten quite expedient at initial H&Ps (and usually sent to do these for the residents), so I'm used to writing more comprehensive notes. But I assume that the way the patient presents and their PMH/co-morbidities dictate what type of level/note you write for that visit? Thanks for the input, just trying to map the jungle before I get air-dropped in.

• Administrator

The level of risk is the biggest determinant in coding level.  Once the level of risk is determined, essentially based on the assessment and plan, the level of documentation should be at least as high as needed to support the maximum reimbursement for that risk level.  This only makes sense, really: if the level of risk is high enough, you really SHOULD have taken a good enough H&P or done a thorough enough exam to code for that level.