Credit card vs loans

Hey, 

starting pa school soon, and planning on surviving off loans but also applying to get a credit card (specifically Discover It for Students) to improve my credit score. Is this a smart thing to do or do people usually just use their loans and pay off everything.

I was thinking of using my credit card for small things like food, gas, etc and pay off the balance with my loans every month, while using my loans to pay for the big things like tuition etc.

I am a noob with credit cards (only been using debit thus far), so seeking some help. 

• Administrator

First off, if you want to have a good credit score, get a secured credit card when you turn 18, and pay it off monthly.  No need to wait for PA school to try this.

Second, yes, if you can CONSISTENTLY (read: ALL THE TIME) pay off your credit card every month, then by all means use one which matches your needs.  I still use the same airlines affinity/reward card I've been using for over 20 years.  We used it through school just like we did beforehand, for convenience and to rack up rewards points, paying the balance off in full monthly and never incurring interest charges.  If you can't do that... credit cards are a trap.

Oh, and no college or university I'm aware of will let you pay via credit card without paying the 2-3% surcharge, so that's not even really a question.  Otherwise, I'd be able to fly wherever I wanted in the world by now...

First off, if you want to have a good credit score, get a secured credit card when you turn 18, and pay it off monthly.  No need to wait for PA school to try this.