What are my chances??

I am currently looking at the following schools in NC: Duke, ECU

(and out of NC: MUSC, University of Kentucky, University of South Alabama, University of Florida, Emory University, and Baylor)

Wake Forest University c/o 2010

B.S. in Health and Exercise Science (planning on graduating with honors from the major)

Minor in Studio Art

Current overall GPA: 2.9

Current science GPA: 2.6

Current internship with dermatologist in Winston-Salem

Summer internship with "IDEA" study with HES department at WFU

Getting NREMT-B certified this summer

I'm also a Kappa Delta, extremely involved in the campus and community, etc.

What are my chances on getting in with my current information? It will all improve over the next 2 years, hopefully, but I want to know where I can realistically plan on getting in.

I am a Wake grad as well and was also an HES major and very involved on campus...I applied this cycle to ECU, UF, and MUSC out of the schools on your list, with a 3.18 ugrad GPA, 3.0 science, and a year's paid work experience in addition to the volunteer work experience I had during school. I got a very quick rejection at ECU (I'm guessing they probably have a GPA minimum which I did not meet). I was also rejected at UF and MUSC, but was accepted at Methodist and Wake.

Would you consider adding Wake's program to your list? I know the program is a little different (they use PBL instead of the traditional lecture style), but I think they are probably more understanding of WFU's grade deflation (we briefly talked about my GPA during my interview, but it was not a sticking point). Getting paid healthcare experience will help, but I also would consider taking some more science classes post-bac to boost your GPA. Good luck, and PM me if I can be of help to you!

• Administrator