Switching Specialities - how do I sell myself in the interview when I have no experience?

I am currently in the hair restoration and medical aesthetic industry.  I really thought I'd love doing this type of niche in medicine, but it is hardly medicine and I am really starting to miss what I was taught in school (diagnostic, treatment, etc...) I am looking to switch to either ED, urgent care, or maybe even hospitalist.  Something that is well-rounded in medicine, but where I also have the opportunity for shift work.  

I have only been in this job for about 5 months, and before this I was in heme/onc for about a year. These past 2 jobs were posted as "new grads encouraged to apply." So how do I sell myself in an interview in a new job where I have to basically start all over?  I'm assuming they would just look at me as a new grad, unfortunately... but I'm not really a new grad!  Does anyone have any suggestions or advice on how they successfully switched to a completely different specialty?  Would it help to start doing CMEs in other fields of medicine to get a head start in learning a new specialty?

consider a residency in a field of interest or go back to heme onc.

I'm sorry, but after your current job you will need to start at the bottom of any specialty except  heme onc. I don't know of any EDs that would interview given that experience. sorry to be so blunt, just being honest.

• Administrator

Yes, do CME targeted at where you want to go.

Consider picking up a family medicine gig that wants new grads.  You won't be one, but if you want to get back to well-rounded medicine, family med is where it's at.  You have a disadvantage (been in arcane, esoteric specialties since graduation) and a corresponding advantage (have at least been holding a job and doing medicine), so yeah, I'd shoot for a good new grad starting package... and then if you like the field, you can move on up from there.