talk to me about NC....

Hi,

I am just beginning my program as an older student, and have had plans, (and a house/farm) in NC- specifically the Tryon/Landrum area. I am hoping to still move here once I graduate...but am coming from MI and a super hospital with very supportive docs who gave me an educational leave to I would (most likely) have a job when I returned to work as a PA.

But...NC is lovely- my home is lovely down here and everything about the area is just..fantastic. So, anyone want to shed light on what it's like to be a PA in this area? I know Asheville has great hospitals, and a progressive medical community. Any other insights would be appreciated!

I'm currently a student at Wake. The experience that i have with the PAs that i shadowed and have met has been pleasant. NC is a very PA friendly state, considering it is the birthplace of our profession. Perhaps if u have specific questions i can ask my PAs about it. As a student, i look forward to graduating and will more than likely staying in NC to practice as well.

bunches o PAs in marion county, rutherfordton, landis, forest city. St Lukes, Rutherfordton Hospitals very PA friendly. If you are local, should be no prob finding job... but it sounds like you have a sweet deal in MI, which would nurture and mature you. Not sure I would give that professional opportunity up for geography.

davis

• 3 weeks later...

Like with any other state, it depends on what you want to do and where you want to do it. ED PAs in the Charlotte area find themselves with the lower acuity patients outside of the "major" areas in the ED, but that isn't always the case. The more rural counties, such as Rutherford, have PAs handling much more of the patient volume and acuities, and although the number of patients is lower than, say, Charlotte or Raleigh, the higher acuities might actaully be more prevalent in the rural ED. NC is a great state for PAs to practice.