PANCE and How to study.

I recently took the pance and didnt pass on my first attempt, i felt all the emotions that accompany failure but i came to this site and used it to review make a plan and study for the exam.

Books used .

1) Step up to medicine.

2) Appleton and Lange Q &A.

3) Currents 2011.

4) Harrisons

5) Bates (the phycial exam book)

5) cecil.

6) AAPA ( only good for PSY and maybe derm)

7) Kaplan

8) DAVIS

9) Datachem

10) 2 WEEk subscription to Exam master.

11) Wheelless (dukes ORTHO site)

12) Youtube any disease it usually has a 2 minute video animation on the patho of a disease.

Basically i studied the major topics from the harrisons and cecil. like CHF, MI, Cancers from harrisons and Cecil since they are meticulously comprehensive with their info. It was tough reading and very thick but it was necessary.

The smaller average sized topics i used currents and step up to medicine to study from.

THINGS ONE MUST KNOW.

1)If going through step up to medicine (which is 1000000000X better then the aapa book) u should know every FIRST AND SECOND line TX to everything mentioned in the blueprint.

2) Know Every DRUG class and their general mechanism or ACtion and MAJOR ADRs.

3) I have been on this site for a while and havent seen people mention Bates guide to physical exam but its an excellent book to use to study.

Each section, at the end of the section breaks down MAJOR Most common physical exam stuff that is often tested on the boards/ relavant to real life encounters such as hernias.

4) EKGs ( know how to tx all EKG stuff)

http://www.medicine-on-line.com/html/ecg/e0001en_files/14.htm

http://www.emedu.org/ecg/givemall.php