Derm job, PLEASE give feedback

I am a new grad who was offered a derm job with a starting salary of 65K for the first 6 months, then 70K for the next 6 months. Then 75K for the 2nd year, going to 85K the 3rd year. Also offered a productivity bonus that starts after the 1st year. When asked about the specifics of the productivity bonus, the doc told me he couldn't tell me because it was complicated. A co-worker told me that she has no idea how much she is paid per service and that the amount of her last bonus was made by the doc giving her "what he thought she deserved" not on the number of biopsies, excisions etc, that she had done. $500.00 professional fees, malpractice, 2 weeks vacation after 1st year, 5K CME.

Can anyone help me sort out whether this is typical

offer or a bad deal?

Hmmm; Thats the first thing that comes to mind!! Well, the CME allowance is about the only fair part, IMO

First - 65k is silly, but if you look at this as a 1 yr "residency", with the opportunity for a LARGE raise, then maybe you can squint your eyes and make a case.

Next - 2 weeks vacation after 1 yr? That means no time off your first yr? Wow

Next - The only thing complicated about the bonus structure is this doctor's poor intentions to take advantage.

Next after 3 years your salary will be equivalent to the average starting salary for PAs--in one of the highest paying specialties.

My opinion--KEEP LOOKING!

I cannot say how much I agree with njsurgpa. Don't put yourself through this. Are you willing to give 3 years up for a final pay that is below average for a new grad now? I agree that only bad things can come if there is not a structure to the bonus. How can it be too complicated? This sounds like a way of saying I will give you what I want, and how much money I want, depending on how I feel type of complicated. If you were working 3 days a week this would be a reasonable offer. Only positive is CME money which is above average.