Parents gave me a ultimatum to do Pre Med. What can I do to still be a PA?

Hey guys, high school senior here. Earlier today, I told my parents i'm majoring in kinesiology, and that I still want to be a PA. After a long fought battle(i'm talking since junior year), my parents finally gave me an ultimatum, "Either do pre med, or your'e not getting any college money from us". There are so many reasons I don't want to be a MD but my parents are so deluded on what the profession is really like that they will completely ignore rational arguments. What advice do you have on what I should do to still become a Physician Assistant? 

Edit: I'm on track to be a phlebotomy tech by high school graduation. 

Study premed. Have fun in college. Graduate. Work and play for a few years. Apply to PA school. Premed is pretty much a perfect pre-PA degree and you could easily pick up the few random classes that might not be covered under that umbrella along the way. Plus, four years is a long time and you might change your mind along the way and decide you want to become a filthy, worthless English major during that time period. Careers are for old people anyway.

I don't think you should major in kinesiology. I would recommend majoring in biochemistry. Many of the pre-reqs required for both med school and pa school are incorporated in this degree. You may have to take a few classes on the side, but that isn't such a big deal. When your senior year comes around you can make your final decision. I think going this route will leave either option open until you are ready to commit to one. Of course going this route may require a lot of work because you'll need to be doing all of the extra circulars for both. 

• Administrator

Those who have the gold, make the rules.