New Grads - Job Hunting Out of State, Your Experience

I am currently a PA-S in Texas with an expected graduation date of August 2016. I am interested in applying to jobs out of state where I have no medical/job connections and I was wondering if anyone on here pursued a job out of state in a similar fashion as a new graduate and if they could relay their experience. I grew up in the Pacific Northwest and also North Carolina and I would enjoy being back in these areas due to the outdoor environment they offer. 

I am most interested in how the process of obtaining a license and finding a job went and if anyone has recommendations on how to make the process as smooth as possible or if it would just be easier to obtain a license/job in my home state (Texas) until I have a few years experience under my belt.

Any input would be greatly appreciated and thank you in advance! 

I'm from Indiana, went to school in Tennessee, and got a job in Texas. I applied to a lot of jobs. I just used Indeed, I didn't do any networking whatsoever. I think most employers wanted licensed and certified applicants, but eventually I got 2 interviews on back-to-back days, so I could just take one trip. The timeline was... graduate on Saturday, PANCE a week later on Monday, interviews on that Wed & Thur. Of course you can't get your license until you pass your PANCE. Fortunately my employer allowed me to start prior to obtaining my license and just follow the other providers.

That said, Texas is a hot job market right now. Dallas and Houston are two of the top cities in the country for PA jobs. Keep that in mind, as not all areas are going to have a lot of jobs available. Also be sure you are doing things NOW that will stand out on your resume and separate you from the crowd of fellow new grads. It can be tough to find places willing to hire new grads.