Same Job, Change in Employer, need advice

Hi All,

I apologize in advance for the length of this post.

I am currently employed by a hospital (as a trauma PA), but because my SPs are all privately employed, I am unable to bill. For that reason, my employment will soon be changing so that I will be employed by a large physician group instead of the hospital. I am nervous about this switch. In my current job, I have no contract, so I am looking forward to having a contract with this physician group. However, I am nervous about negotiating benefits and salary for a job I already hold, when I essentially have no say in the change (other than my option of leaving my current position, which I do not want to do). I am trying to prepare myself for the upcoming switch, and meeting with the physician group to negotiate contract. I have a few questions.

Background Info: I graduated in Dec 2009 from PA school. I live and am employed in Northeast Ohio at a Level 1 trauma center and I am currently the only "midlevel provider" on the trauma service, though they will be hiring 2 more in the near future. I have been in my current position (1st job) since March 2010. I started at 72,900 and am now at 75,000, with the increase coming from a "pay for performance" raise, which is the same % for all hospital employees based on hospital-wide performance measures. I had a verbal agreement from my former dept. mananger (who has now left that position) that I would be given $1200 yearly for CME, and $1000 yearly for liscensure, professional memberships, etc. Malpractice covered by hospital.