Question about your first job

I am a student graduating in December and have begun the job search process. Many positions are available, but I'm finding they're either very rural, temp positions, float positions, or in a subspecialty that would be a poor fit for me after school. I am really interested in family practice or a surgical subspecialty. Today I applied for a job (my first time) that said they would consider new grads, but immediately received an email that I did not have enough experience. This is disheartening and I'm beginning to wonder if perhaps my expectations are too high. Granted, I have just begun the search and have plenty of time. I'm just curious about perspectives from everyone here. Please share as much as you feel comfortable, or PM me if you do not want this public.

A few questions:

1. How long did you search before finding positions you were interested in as a new grad?
  2. How many times had you been dismissed due to being new?
  3. Did you have to broaden your search and apply to positions that weren't necessarily ideal?
  4. Were you satisfied with your first position?
  5. If you could have a do-over from graduation, what would you have done differently.

Thank you in advance. I will keep my chin up and keep applying.

Boatswain2PA - You're right. I shouldn't compare myself to others. I was just curious if it's a common experience finding a position that has patience for a new grad. Two of my friends just received very desirable offers from places that were exclusively seeking new PAs. I'm wondering if this is common. Also, I feel I miscommunicated my specialty preferences. I'm not looking for a specific surgical subspecialty. I'm seeking family practice or any sort of surgery whatsoever. I would also like to stay in the same city as my home and family.