Hello everyone my name is Chris. I am just trying to get a handle on how achievable my dream is giving my current portfolio. I currently go to Union University in Tennessee. The school always ranks well among private colleges in the south and across the country. In December I will graduate with a degree exercise science. My major GPA is around 3.6, cumulative 3.2, and science gpa (I'm guessing) is 2.5. I started my first semester with a 1.4 gpa so there has been a major upward trend since the beginning. My science prerequisites only include 1 biology, 1 chemistry (both for science majors), and A&P both 1&2 so I know I have a few I need to take that can help to raise that. My school offers an undergraduate gross anatomy class I plan to take as an upper leve bio. In addition to being a full time student I have worked for 4 years as a full time pharmacy technician while in school. With the exception of my obviously low science gpa, how do I look on paper as an applicant? I have emailed the university of utahs admissions and they said pharm tech was acceptable healthcare experience but I am willing to do more if I need to. Thank you for your comments and suggestions!!

-Chris

See, I was always told that being a pharm tech wasn't "hands on" enough experience. While it is experience no doubt, schools really like the direct interacting with patients (i.e. medical assistant, EMT, etc.). You didn't mention if you tried taking the GRE yet. It looks like you may have a bit of classes to take to meet most prerequisite standards. The schools I'm applying to require at minimum a 3.0 sciences GPA. If you already took A&P 1 and 2, I wouldn't take another anatomy class and focus on the other classes that you need or if nothing more take upper level BIO classes like genetics, immunology, parasitology, etc. Get a lists of several schools and make sure when applying that your criteria fits them all, unless you are dead set on Utah and have no doubt that you will get in.