Former Nurse PA ?????

I was never a nurse so NP wasn't an option.

My family is all military and PAs actually provided my care growing up but I never knew what they were.

My family also had plenty of nurses - both LVNs and RNs - they actually encouraged me to go the PA route more than anyone.

They encouraged me to go to a model that was in every branch of medicine and talked to me about the fewer fields available to NPs.

I changed directions after getting a BA in a completely unrelated field and realized I hated it.

I had a knack and desire for surgery --- helped at the veterinarian's office --- and the PA school closest to me still offered a surgical track back then -- 25 yrs ago. Now it is called a residency.

So, I chose PA because it appealed and I was not a nurse to start with.

Think about what field you want and the options available and look at the schoold for both.

I am a medical laboratory scientist with a BS in micro who is looking at inpatient heme/onc or infectious disease.  I decided upon a direct entry, 21 month, MSN which includes ~50% of the credits for a post-master NP certification.  My intention is to have a job lined up for immediate start as an RN on a heme/onc floor in exactly 21.5 months.  I will finish my NP while working 3x12s / week and leverage my experience with heme/onc patients into a heme/onc or ID position.  I live in a relatively NP/PA unfriendly state with hospitals that have a slight pro-NP slant.

As much as I might like to say "medical model", the PA route just can't offer me a similar arc with the same odds of success in my major midwest city.

As much as I might like to say "medical model", the PA route just can't offer me a similar arc with the same odds of success in my major midwest city.

there are 2 oncology postgrad programs for PAs. I would imagine a grad of one of these programs at Mayo or MD Anderson would have their choice of jobs.