Nephrology in Low Resource Countries

Hello -- I am a PA student who is working on a project related to global health, and interventions for chronic kidney disease in low resource countries (especially, but not exclusively, in Central America).  I am particularly interested in the challenges of setting up dialysis.  Has anyone had first hand experience with this?  Would you be willing to let me interview you about your work?  I'd love to have a PA on my list of informants.

Thanks!

I'm not a PA yet and I can't help you (sorry)

But I have done a lot of reading about the issue and I am so glad to know that there is an increased interest in studying this problem.  It's very sad and a bit of a mystery (but if you want my two cents, I'd bet that it's some sort of nephrotoxin that the men are exposed to in the fields, combined with dehydration and lack of access to fresh, safe water on-site.  The "it's their genetics" argument is appalling to me. These men experience some of the most brutal working conditions on earth).

Anywhoo...I do know that they have succesfully used peritoneal dialysis in some places in Nicaragua, and that men are able to do this in their own homes.  But I'm sure you already knew that, and also you probably know much more than I do about how peritoneal dialysis actually works...

Thanks for chiming in.  I am beginning to make contact with an organization in Nicaragua that seeks to facilitate research and drive policy.  It's a fascinating topic.  There was a great article in the Guardian a few months ago.

http://www.theguardian.com/world/2015/feb/16/-sp-nicaragua-kidney-disease-killing-sugar-cane-workers

I just wish I had more access to someone who has attempted to facilitate dialysis in such places.

Thanks for the article.  I'm disturbed by the following statement: “To date, scientific studies have not been able to determine the causes of CKD or establish a causal link between sugar cane work and the disease,” said a spokesman [at ISA].