Recruiters- What have been your experiences in dealing with them?

Hey everyone- 

So I've been in the locum tenens recruiting space for awhile now, and have heard all kinds of stories regarding interactions between PA's and recruiters. For those who do locums, or even permanent positions, what have been your experiences with them? What do you expect out of your recruiters? Are they more friends to you, or just a part of the business? What tips do you have for recruiters to better understand you, and the industry as a whole? 

I've had mixed experiences as well.

Before I graduated I worked with an ortho-only recruiter who was really good. He'd call me every few days with jobs---most of them high-paying---and got me in touch with several practice owners. He really had a good niche though. 

Since then I've gotten my jobs through want ads or word of mouth. I still get unsolicited calls from recruiters about once a week. Most of them get my contact info from job boards I registered for years ago. I don't usually call them back---I feel bad at times but I think that's the nature of cold-calling.

They are all polite, but to be honest most of them just aren't offering anything spectacular. They are typically pain management, occ med, or rural urgent care jobs anywhere but my home state (Colorado). 

pretty bad on my end.

Had one or two good experiences with legit offers that were fair ($55/hour for a 1099 position is not fair, nor reasonable... and I don't need a 30 min lecture on why that is a good rate of pay....)

mostly they are ineffective middle men/women who really have no clue about medicine, but look at us as a cost center and something that lessens their profitability....

Their equation is simple,  They get paid X # of $ to get a PA, and try to drive our salary down to the lowest point to allow themselves more profit...

one small step above used car salespeople, or those telemarketers that always call at dinner time....

no thanks on my end