exactly what you think...help with editing!

Not a first draft....but certainly not a final draft either!

and in case you can't tell, I'm a way over the limit...about 1,000 characters over :/

Ideally i can eliminate a small chunk from the each of the first 3 paragraphs, without having to eliminate too much from any one...

and of course, overall critiques are welcome too!

“I'm not sure,” I had said shrugging, fidgeting in my chair, glancing at the clock on the wall and making it painfully obvious how eager I was to leave. I was sitting opposite my biology advisor, who had just posed the question of what it was I wanted to do after I graduated. Truth be told, I had never met this woman before, and I had only scheduled this appointment as it was required in order to obtain my degree. I was feeling the way I had through most of my freshman year; not with a lack of knowledge or intelligence per say (as evident from my grades sophomore year and beyond), but with a significant lack of motivation. Looking back, my indifference about my future was driven by fear of the unknown. However, at that time I had a more relevant fear which was the need to find a job, any job, that would allow me to support myself and continue to live independently, as my mother had made it clear that she would not be able to support me financially in anyway. So my fear of the future was easily masked by my fear of the present and when I found out I had gotten a job a few days prior to my commencement, I was ecstatic. I shelved my fears of the future and for awhile it worked; so what if I had an office job that I found to be under stimulating and cared little about, at least I was paying all my bills. But the more I worked at something I did not enjoy, the greater the fear became, until I could not ignore it any longer and I began to wonder what I truly wanted to do with my life.