Completing Prerequisites

Hi, all!

I am glad to stumble upon this website. I will start by giving a little background about myself, and then ask the typical questions.

I completed my bachelor's and master's degrees in Psychology (specifically Research-based) from the Univeristy of Oregon in 2006 and 2010. I graduated undergraduate with a 3.56 GPA and a 3.71 GPA in graduate school. To no avail, I couldn't find employment for this area and contemplated going back to school. After several years working as a Caregiver and Mental Health Therapist, I decided to start taking the prerequisites to go back to school for a Master's in Physician Assisting Studies.

I have read a few different things on school websites, one that being a Mental Health Therapist does qualify as hours to get into a program and others saying that it doesn't. I want to make sure I have the right kind of experience, so that it will qualify and meet this requirement.

Here are a few questions that I have:

• Is there a standard list of types of work that qualify and count toward the hours needed to apply to a Physician Assistant program, or is it dependent on the school?
  • All of the schools state that one or more of your letters of recommendation should be from a PA od MD, is this a recommendation or requirement?
  • Is there a demographic list anywhere that shows GPAs/previous experience that people that have been accepted have?
  • In undergraduate, I took a year-long sequence of general chemistry, but did not take the labs that went along with it. Should I retake it with the labs?

Thank you all for your time - I really appreciate it!

All best,

Jason