Healthcare Administrator Career Change_Advice Please

Hello,

I’ve been a ‘lurker’ and finally decided to post.  I have decided after much reflection to change careers and start the journey to become a PA.  (Sorry for the crazy long post)

I had lifesaving surgery as a child so my lifetime experience with physicians and the healthcare community starts there. It's weird but hospitals have always given me a sense of calm.  I went to college on academic scholarship with the goal of becoming a physician.  Most people do poorly in the beginning of college and rally.  My issue is the exact opposite.  I did quite well in the first few years but after some compounding family issues in the last 3 semesters, my GPA absolutely tanked.  I graduated with a Chemistry degree (GPA 2.85) in 2004.  Along with the ongoing family issues, I was demoralized and my confidence shattered.  Graduate and professional school would never be an option.  After (hiding) working in basic research labs for some time, the healthcare bug returned and I happily got an MHA (GPA 3.53) in 2011. At the time, I thought it would be a good way to combine my love of healthcare with a stable, “safe” career.  

Currently I work in Health Administration at a local hospital.  To put it simply, I can’t imagine doing this for the rest of my career.  Although I do my job well, it is truly mind-numbing.  This isn’t what I wanted for my life.  When I meet with healthcare teams to discuss projects, I’m more drawn to conversations surrounding how to clinically treat patients rather than how to get a new form filled out or doing a departmental budget.  Patient care has always been there in the background and the voice had only gotten louder.  I work across many clinical specialties and I’m drawn to Primary Care, Cardiology, and Dermatology.

Issues: