Hello,

I'm starting down the path to become a P.A. and have a few questions I cannot find answers for here.

1) If one has a strong interest in pursuing EM, would it be advisable to delay starting PA school to earn an EMT-P over a simple EMT-B or can the skills learned in paramedic training be easily gained through a residency or on-the-job? I am an EMT-B and could become a paramedic in 1.5 years or else apply 1.5 years sooner. I want to be prepared to practice at the highest level in EM one day in the far future so the delay would be worth it if necessary.

2) Does PA School ranking matter for jobs? For residency competitiveness? For future academic endeavors? For respect on the job?

3) How is California as a market for PAs? I have no interest in living elsewhere. It's California or bust. Is this going to be a problem (I'm fine with taking pay cut to be here, just want to make sure I won't have to move to the east God forbid.)

Thanks everyone!

1.) Would a employer prefer past experience as a EMT-P over EMT-B? Sure. Does it have as great of impact as you think? Probably not. The PA that I know worked as a CNA before PA school and then went straight into EM after graduation. Impressing your EM preceptor would yield much more advantage opportunity for a EM job than becoming a EMT-P vs EMT-B.

2.) I'm assuming you're referring to the USNews rankings? Those ranks mean nothing and are based off things that do not matter. Things that do matter include PANCE scores, quality of clinical rotations, the age of the program, and what graduates of the program have to say about the school. No intelligent company or physician is going to look at these and deny your request for employment and/or residency.

3.) I don't have anything to contribute to this question, sorry.