Filing Taxes as new PA

This is my first year filing taxes as someone with an income above the poverty line (Yay!). The complexity all of the sudden seems through the roof though (i.e. salary, loan repayment from the state, school loan interest and payments, etc...). I am curious if anyone has words of wisdom? Should I fork out for someone else to file them? Should I try online programs (this has been my past option)? Any road blocks that I may be forgetting or things I should take advantage of? Thanks in advance!

1:  Prepare yourself to see who is paying for all of the stupid government projects, the tax credits for illegal aliens, the medicaid for the meth heads on disability for the fibromyalgia, etc.  When you see how much you actually pay in taxes it can make you cry a little bit...

2. Unless you are a W-2 employee with no kids, no medical expenses, and you will be taking the standard deduction (ie: You can do the 1040EZ form)....then it is probably more cost effective to find a good accountant to do your taxes.  Even if you pay them the same rate that you are getting paid (let's say $65 an hour), they will be able to do it in 1/3 of the time.

3. Your accountant should also be able to give you advice on how to reduce your tax burden.  If they can't, then get a different accountant. 

Good luck, and get ready to bend over and grab your ankles.....

You can do these taxes on your own.

Even if you itemize, turbotax spoonfeeds you through the process.

I like to do my taxes because I can make adjusting to withholding, etc for the next tax year. I could pay someone a couple hundred $$s but then I would have to drop everything off to them and wait.

I can do my taxes in about an hour with turbotax on the web.

While it may seem like accountants can do some magic for you, what they really can do is make suggestions on how to decrease your tax burden.

But most of those suggestions are readily found with a little bit of investigation.