Chances at PA School

Okay, I've been pretty set on being a PA since I moved to a Michigan where they are utilized a lot.

I graduated from the University of Kansas (my native state) with a BS in Respiratory Care with pharmacy pre-reqs. So, o-chem and micro. I have a 3.67 GPA and there's no reason I won't be getting a 4.0 in the rest of my pre-reqs.

I will have been a respiratory therapist for over a year when I put in my application. I'll have letters of recommendation from a PA that I work with, my RT supervisor, and one from one of my professors.

I haven't taken the GRE yet.

I really want to go to the University of Detroit Mercy, it's the only school I'm applying to as the other local one is Wayne and will not accept most of my credits from KU. I can't relocate because I'm married and my husband is settled in his career.

Any advice on admission? I'm concerned I'm not considered competitive.

You sound really competitive in my opinion. Do well on the GRE, keep accumulating health care experience and write a thoughtful personal statement and I don't see why you wouldn't be competitive. Do you have any shadowing of a PA or other volunteer experience? That would help.

You may have trouble just applying to one school however... acceptance rates are very low and in many cases spreading the net will help you out. Also, I've heard some schools find it off-putting if an applicant has only applied to their program as it tells them you think you are that much of a shoe-in. 

That's kind of what I was thinking about the one school and it makes me nervous, but, I'm not prepared to retake my pre-reqs simply because it's not from a school they are used to working with quite yet. I'm going to put in a challenge for accepting my credits at the other school in downtown Detroit I think.