H1B Visa for a PA.

Are there any Canadian/International PA's out there who are working in Washington state? If so did anyone have any problems getting sponsored for their H1B visa?

Im currently on "Optional Practical Training", which gives me permission to work anywhere in the United States as a PA for 1 year. This permit is used as a buffer to help me set up a H1B visa with my employer. Once getting a H1B I plan to apply for my green card.

I had a phone conversation with a potential employer who told me I would only be able to find work in an underserved area. This is fine by me as i am willing to relocate anywhere within the state, but it narrows down my job search significantly.

Anyone else have this problem? Im going to continue searching for jobs anywhere but it was a little unsettling as i need a job asap.

I am currently trying to find a job anywhere in the state. Im a new grad thats looking for an emergency medicine/urgent care job but am also open to other specialties.

Thanks for any help!

You should look into whether practicing as a PA in the USA qualifies as a profession eligible for a TN visa through NAFTA - this might be the quickest and easiest way to go if PA is an eligible profession. I"m not sure if it is. It seems to me that the process of eligibility for an H1B can be quite lengthy and difficult. The employer has to prove that they are unable to hire a suitable American candidate...

I'm Canadian, but I had a green card before starting PA school, so don't have any idea how it might work for you. I found the officers at the crossing in Blaine WA to be surprisingly helpful though. You might check with them.

Best of luck