Paramedic to PA

Hey guys, I've been reading behind the scenes for awhile & decided it was time to ask a few questions (most of the ones i've had i've been able to find answers to!) If there is already a Paramedic to PA thread that I just cannot find please redirect me there.

I have been working as a unit secretary for the past 5 years in the hospital so i'm very familiar with how things work there etc. I decided to go to paramedic school last year after completing EMT school as I wanted to do something in the medical field but felt nursing really was not for me. I graduate in december (!!!) with an A.S. in EMS and am crossing my fingers for a transfer to the ER as a medic. Where I live you have to attend fire school in order to work as a "street medic." As much as I LOVED internship, I'm on the edge about fire school. While doing ER clinicals I became familiar with the job of a PA (i'd previously never heard of it) and did some research. I think it is the perfect fit for what I want to do! After looking into the schooling I need it will be about 2-2.5 years before i'll be ready to apply to PA programs (I'd be 28 yrs old). During that time I plan on working as a medic in the ER. I'm registered for next semester to start prereqs for a pre-clinical health sciences bachelors degree program I can transfer into after completing the prereqs. Should I consider fire school and get some street time too or will the ED provide enough experience? How soon should I look into shadowing a PA? Any tips on what to do/not do at the beginning of this journey?

Thanks!