First, I'll start by saying that I have learned so much these last couple weeks, will never make this mistake again, and should ALWAYS get everything in writing....

The situation is this... I work per-diem in two different hospitals (where my malpractice is covered by them) and I work part-time for all of this; 9/2011 I started working for an MD doing Sleep medicine, and he got me a claims made part-time (<24hrs/wk) policy.  He paid it for two years, though I only worked for him for one.

12/2012 I started working for MD seeing patients in Nursing homes and rehabs until 4/2014

In May of this year I started training with a dermatologist, who has never had a PA. I have no contract (I know, I'm a fool).  He is very old school, we were going off each other's word, and I am far too trusting.

Sept. my malpractice is up for renewal, and since he is likely selling the practice he did not want to pay it, he passes the buck and they don't yet want to be responsible for it.  I would have 7 more payments/years until my tail is included. So, currently my policy is lapsed (though may very well be reinstated if full payment is made within next month), an I have not been able to work for him.

He (and potential new MD buying practice) want me to switch to MLMIC and have an occurrence policy, which is better, BUT but that would mean that one of us (or maybe a combination) would pay for the tail.