Clinical Psychology Degree with PA License

Hi Guys, 

I am going to keep this as short as possible. I am currently an undergraduate approaching my junior year. I have only a couple of pre-PA courses left and will be finished with my clinical hours by the end of this year. I am a psychology major with a minor in neuroscience. I would have a major in neuroscience or behavioral science if only my University offered it. However, I have adjusted accordingly by integrating many biological components within my academic resume. 

Background explanation completed. Long story short: I want to be a Clinical Psychologist (obviously this entails a Doctoral degree in psychology) and a licensed PA. My goal is to integrate the two if at all possible. I used to want to be a Psychiatrist (MD) until I saw the lack of patient-to-doctor time which doesn't allow for adequate analysis of psychiatric conditions, IMO. 

Having the depth of understanding of a Clinical Psychologist along with the ability to prescribe medications as a PA looks to be an ideal solution. But here come the questions: Is this realistic and feasible? I wouldn't want to be utilizing one without the other. Would there be hiring opportunities for what I am describing? Can you really integrate the two simultaneously? If so, how much freedom and solidarity would I have to practice? 

I don't mind long or straightforward answers. And I am willing to communicate any additional questions anyone may have. I appreciate you taking the time to read this. 

Patient to doctor time for a Psychiatrist can vary from Psychiatrist to Psychiatrist, it can be as long or short as you want it to be. Remember, as a physician you make your hours and distribute your time as you see fit.