Wanted to share my experience studying for the PANCE

New graduate and a PA-C here wanting to share my experience on studying for the PANCE.

After graduating I took about 1 week off to enjoy my life and celebrate my accomplishments with friends and family.  I then took about 4 weeks to study before taking the PANCE.  This was more then an adequate amount of time in my opinion, and at times almost seemed like to much.  There were times were I was literally so sick of studying, that I would take a day or two off in a row just to regain my focus.  (I took 2 days off twice during this 4 week period of time) and would estimate that I studied on average 4-5 hours a day.

Anyhow my method of studying was this... Each day I chose 1 topic beginning with the 5 major topics (Cardiac, Pulmonary, HEENT, GI MSK) and read the entire section in the NCCPA review book.  After reading each section I took questions on this section only from pancemaster, kaplan, the CD that came with the NCCPA review book, and any other source I could find.  I looked to score 70% or better on all test except for kaplan I shot for 60% or better.  After completing all of the sections, I went back and repeated this process on the 5 major topics.

After completing this process I took the 2 NCCPA exams and scored "good" proficiency overall and was at the national average or better in the majority of the categories.  

The day before the PANCE I did not study or review at all.  Tried to get to bed at a good hour, although thunderstorms made it difficult to sleep throughout the night... Ate a good breakfast in the morning...

The PANCE itself was challenging but fair.  I left the exam not knowing if I passed or failed... it certainly felt like it could have gone either way.  The week of waiting for the results was harder than studying or the days before the exam itself.