Officially giving up on Ohio

I interviewed for a PA job in March in Cleveland.  Despite the fact that they appeared to be very enthusiastic about me, it took 2 months to get an offer, and then it was very low and insulting. It was actually lower than what new grads are getting, and I have 27 years' experience! PAs are not valued in Cleveland, pure and simple. The only games in town are University and Cleveland Clinic, and I don't want to work for either.

Now, the job I interviewed for  is a federally qualified health center, but I still think they can pay better.  I have come too far to work twice as hard for much less pay. I mainly wanted to be in Cleveland to be near my mom, but I think I can talk her into moving somewhere else, more friendly to PAs. I will keep doing locums until I find the right permanent job.

My advice to any prospective PAs:  do not go to PA school unless you are willing to leave the state.  Ohio and Indiana are probably the worst states in the country for PAs.

Curious what's the opposition to The Clinic?

Just not my cup of tea.  Too big, they make you pay for parking and not that great benefits.  They kind of have the attitude that you should be grateful to work there. Of course, being that they are like the only game in town, that is pretty much true.

I live on the border of Ohio/Indiana, and am curious as to what stinks about Indiana? I am hoping to get into PA school at some point, and although we don't want to stay here long term... who knows what might happen! I know it's one of the better states for physicians...

I may not be up-to-date on Indiana, but I do know that they are the last state in the country to allow PAs prescribing privileges. That cannot be good.  I am sure they are better for docs.  It is a very conservative state and I would expect that physicians are very protected and strong tort reform has been enacted.