Foreign medical graduate

Im an fmg trying to apply for PA since I need clinical experience in the USA to get a residency. I graduated med school 3 years ago and have been working in my hometown since. Will my credit hours be accepted here? Anyone with any advice?

Will your credit hours be accepted? The answer is honestly "maybe". Many schools will require the TOEFL and transcripts translated by an approved translation service to apply. There also may be requirements for all prerequisites to be taken at schools in the US, which essentially makes your foreign degree "electives" at those schools.

The next question is, will a PA school accept you if the only purpose of you going to PA school is to get clinical experience for a US residency? I seriously doubt they will waste the slot. Their goal is to train PAs, not help FMGs meet residency match requirements.

Good luck.

• Upvote 1

In order to get clinical experience for fmgs, clerkships/observerships are the better route. They are faster, less paper work in terms of applications. Plus, you will not get much clin exp in the first year anyway. Instead, you will have to study a lot. Don't know where you are residing, but places like Chicago and NY are considered fmg friendly and may have opportunities for someone like you.

• Upvote 1

The next question is, will a PA school accept you if the only purpose of you going to PA school is to get clinical experience for a US residency? I seriously doubt they will waste the slot. Their goal is to train PAs, not help FMGs meet residency match requirements.