interview tips for applicants

Hello everybody!

I recently was a part of a panel that talked to a group of pre-health students about interviewing in health professional programs.  I am a 1st year PA student, had pretty good success with interviewing, and made a little write up based on my experiences with interviewing for PA school (disclaimer - these are my personal opinions, though they were reviewed by the medical director of our program).  I figured I'd share the handout with you all as well, so here it is copy and pasted below.  I hope it helps!

JS

Applying to Health Professional Schools

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

General layout for the discussion:

QUESTION that is typically seen in interviews.  (Why the program asks this)

-AVOID common mistakes people make that reflect poorly on themselves.

-WHAT TO FOCUS ON in general as you reflect and come up with your own unique answers.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

QUESTION 1 – Why do you want to be a (PA, NP, MD, RN, etc)?   (Are these motivations enough to fuel the applicant through the rigors of schooling and the challenges of the profession?)

-AVOID putting other professions down as you say why you think your profession is the best for you. 

-FOCUS ON the many different parts that make up this question.  First, why do you want to enter the general field of medicine?  Within this field, why have you chosen PA vs MD vs NP etc?  Do your research! You need to know the unique aspects of each profession.

QUESTION 2 – What are the trends and directions of healthcare in our country? (Has the applicant done the research and figured out what he/she will be facing in his/her career?)

-AVOID sharing political opinions.