Thinking about a residency but.......

I have been thinking about attending an EM residency but I am hesitant for several reasons.

1. I have been practicing rural primary care/EM for just over two years and have about 1.5 years left on my current contract. How did anyone else in the same boat cope with the huge pay cut when you went to your residency? Was it worth the huge cut in pay?

2. How hard is it to just find an EM job and simply go to work? I know a residency would be awesome because of the immersive environment but is it worth it in the long run? What value is added at the negotiating table? I have EM experience (granted not the massive level one trauma, 80-thousand-visits-a-year, running-your-butt-off-for-12-hours kind) but still it is better than the nothing kind.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance. - Sonny

It doesn't make sense given the loss of income & the fact that you've being a PA for 2 years. If you need to add to your skills set. Here is what I would do. Attend every EM cme/bootcamp, EM pod cast/cme etc. You could go to PA EM residency program, review the program outline and use it as your study guide. Pick up hour at busy ED start as a per diem and later convert to PT or FT. I must admit, when I was two years in practice, I felt like doing an EM residency. I will end here and would let others like E chip in.