Hi there!

I am planning to reapply to PA schools for the third time now for the 2014-2015 cycle. First time I applied, I got one interview and unfortunately didn't get in. Second time I applied very late in the application cycle and didn't get any interviews. 

I have a B.S. in Biology from a CUNY, Science GPA of 2.98 (which sucks because many schools want 3.0 and higher), overall GPA 3.25 (after CASPA calculations). I have taken all of the pre requisites for the program. Planning to take a GRE since that increases the number of schools I can apply to. I do have an "F" on my transcript and I did retake the course and ended up with a "B-". I got an "A" in Anatomy and a "B-" in Physiology in college so I thought taking an A&P course at a local college in CA will help me boost my GPA. I got a "B" and that didn't really help. I have about 2 years of experience of working as a physical therapy aide in NY, ICU/PACU nurse duty volunteer (6 months)  plus shadowing an orthopedic PA for 4 months also in NY. I have recently moved to CA and have been working as a surgical scheduler/back office assistant at a surgical practice for the past year. I volunteer at a local soup kitchen as an assistant to the cook/food server. Recently found a PA to shadow in the Bay Area.

I really want to become a PA and need to figure out ways to better myself as an applicant. Please help!

If you have any suggestions, I would greatly appreciate your advice!

I would recommend making raising your science GPA your primary focus. Less than a 3.0 in a science degree will be tough to overcome. Be thinking Genetics, Immunology, Virology, Neoplasia, etc. Also consider that anything less than an A in each new course will cement your GPA into the lower ranges, so be careful.

• Administrator