Job outlook and ability to find one?

Hello All,

I decided to post this here instead of the Pre-PA forum because you all have experience and more knowledge about the question I am asking. When you graduated PA school how hard was it to find a job? Also, how hard do you think it will be now a days?

The biggest thing I am seeing is that LP's are pushing out PA's, which worries me for obvious reasons. I am still somewhat young (23) and would like to practice medicine as a PA for various reasons. I'm worried that by the time I graduate from PA school that NP's will have consumed many of the jobs and my chances of practicing medicine will be low. Is this a realistic fear?

I know this is kind of a newbie question and I will delete it, if it has already been answered before.

Thanks for your time!

I graduated PA school in 2010, and was a paramedic prior to that for 20 years, most of it in the military and the U.S. Government in wonderful places like Iraq, Afghanistan, Bosnia, Somalia and El Salvador. I also worked as a private contractor doing bodyguard work along with being a medic in Sierra Leone, Israel, Libya and Mexico. I just got my first full-time job in Austin three months ago, and when privileges are done, will start in early September.

Here in Austin, it's very difficult to get jobs as a PA. I had one doctor actually tell me to my face, I need to come to the realization that I am going to get offers 30% less than anywhere else in Texas because I want the privileges in Texas. He told me that if I wasn't willing to take this cut for the privilege of working for him, I might not be the right person for his team. Since that was only the second question he asked me, I thanked him for his time and for wasting mine, took several drinks out of the refrigerator in the lounge, a handful of cookies and as many sandwiches off the tray that I could cram into my backpack and left. He may have wasted my time, but I got several days of Jimmy John's and soft drinks!!